Frustration Speaking!


I love my family and friends.  Let me be clear about that.  But there are times when I wonder why I bother with some relationships.  I mean I must get something out of them, right? Otherwise, I wouldn’t be in them.  But there are those days, weeks, months, when I wonder why I am putting in all the effort and seem to be the only one really invested in the relationship.

Buckle in and Get ready for a “complaint” session here.

I have a few relationships, just a few thank goodness, where not once in the last few months, has the other person initiated contact.  If contact was made, I was the instigator.  The reason for this?  Heck if I know!

It seems that lately there has been a rash of sentiment that feels that if someone is making an effort, then the relationship is viable.  I have to strongly disagree.  A viable relationship can’t function if it’s just one-sided.  A relationship is a partnering of TWO or more individuals with a common purpose.  Nowhere in that definition is a SINGLE entity mentioned.  Therefore, a relationship by definition, takes two.  Yet, with these few relationships, I can’t say that I’ve seen much effort being put out by the other party.  So I guess I have a decision to make.  Do I keep at these one-sided relationships in the hopes that things will improve or do I accept that the other partners have decided, consciously or subconsciously, that since I am currently putting forth all the effort, they no longer need to and I should just accept that?

Honestly, it would be easy to accept the new status quo and just suck it up, however, that isn’t very empowering and if I choose to be the “doormat” in a relationship then I have no one to blame but myself.  So, here’s my decision.  I am through.  Those relationships that are one-sided now are being relegated to the past.  I am ceasing all efforts to make them work.

If you don’t hear from me anymore, then you know that our relationship was one of those that I was putting all the effort into without any reciprocation from you.  And if you do hear from me, then know that I truly appreciate that you are just as invested in our relationship as I am. I am very blessed to have you in my life.

Hey, I do believe I am feeling better already now that I’ve gotten that off my chest.  You can unbuckle now.  The rant is over.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

