Motivation Roadblocks


This will be a short blog today.  Yeah, right.  Who am I kidding? Nothing I sit down to write is ever short and sweet.

So, last night was not the best.  I had to stay up past my normal bedtime of 10pm to retrieve my daughter from a pool party.  As I was home and in bed by 10:20pm that should not have been that big of an issue.  However, something woke me at 11:15pm and that’s when I noticed that my daughter, who is 15 years old, was still up.  Well, you know what I did, right?  I sent her promptly to bed then staggered back to my own.  At 2:30 am, my youngest son comes in and nudges me awake.  Apparently, our two very accomplished mousers decided that Nick, my son, needed a gift, so they brought a live mouse in the house and deposited it in his room.  NOT COOL.  Nick woke me to deal with it.  By this time, I am barely coherent.  My solution?  Shut the cats in your room and go sleep on the couch.  I plunge back into bed, hoping to fall back to sleep quickly.  No such luck, now I’m stressing about a mouse being in my house and cursing my cats.  A mere 2 1/2 hours later, my alarm goes off, I pry my eyes open, and I reluctantly drag myself out of bed, wondering why I feel as though I haven’t slept.  Surprise, I HAVEN’T.

Now, regardless of getting up on time, I seem to be an hour behind today.  Breakfast for my husband and son, who both had to be out of the house by 5:45 am, was late so that made them late and grumpy. Normally I would then head to the gym but I couldn’t seem to get myself out the door on time and I arrived there almost 45 minutes later than normal.  Not a big deal, except I have several appointments scheduled for today.  Now, I am back from the gym, late, have cooked breakfast for my two youngest children, later than they expected it as I usually wake them up to come eat and they slept in much later than they had planned, and I have yet to hit the shower and get ready for my first morning appointment at 10 am.  This shouldn’t be an issue except that I was planning on having at least 2 hours this morning to work on my newest book.  That ain’t happening.  Sadly, I don’t even have the energy to head to my room to get ready.  I am motivation poor today and I blame it all on insufficient sleep.

That’s just one of the many roadblocks that can put a whammy on my motivation juju.  Poor nutrition, poor exercise (and I actually got those checked off today but it’s not improving me much), writer’s block, a grumpy household, TOO much to do, and excessive boredom  (especially in the heat of summer) have the same effect on me.  My motivation juju seems to take a vacation when one or more of these roadblocks pops up.  I could counter some of these with caffeine but as an asthmatic, I try to avoid that substance for two reasons.  One, it won’t work as well when I need it to halt an asthma attack and two, the crash when the “high” runs out leaves me even more wrung out. A beach trip would work but that swallows up a whole day and let’s be honest, lately, I haven’t had the time to spare.

So instead, I am giving in to the inevitable today.  If I get any writing on my book accomplished, it will be a miracle.  In the meantime, I am planning on at least one nap later today and I’m going to go to bed EARLY.  Only sleep attrition will cure this particular roadblock today.  Now what to do about catching up…?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

