Oh Woe is Me?


Seems like summer hit with a vengeance around here and I now see myself coming and going.  You know how it is… kids have camps, trips, activities, and in my case, tons of AP summer work to complete BEFORE classes resume.  Not to mention their summer jobs, outings with friends, and sleepovers.  Then there’s the usual for me, job to tend to every day, housework, church responsibilities, and then the holiday smack dab in the middle of it all.  All in all, it seems that summer is my busiest time of year.  It’s also the time of year when I have to take extra precautions to not get burned out.   So much is going on in my life during this time, that I forget to work on that one relationship that trumps them all; the one with myself.  My secret to rejuvenating and finding my mojo again is mini-vacations to the beach.  I am lucky enough to live within an hour and a half of some of the nicest beaches in California.  And believe me, I try to take advantage of that as often as possible, especially when I can feel my energies depleting.  I steal away for an entire day and do nothing but play in the sea, walk the beach, and sleep in the sun.  I definitely don’t get there as often as I wish, since I am a self-acknowledged beach addict, but I do get there as often as needed to replenish and restore my strength, both mental and emotional.  Let’s face it, we live in a busy world where everything needs to be done yesterday.  Life won’t wait for tomorrow and it rarely is patient enough for today.  Recharging our energy is vital just to keep ourselves sane.

Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not so pulled-together in my life that the monthly or bi weekly trip to the beach is sufficient.  If I lived on the coast, I promise you, I’d hit the beach daily.  But since, I’m not that blessed, I do take an hour or so a day just to myself and either grab a book, hit the pool, or take a nap.  My mind needs the down time and when my time is up, I am ready to hit the pavement running again.  Those short breaks are necessary for me each day, especially since my days begin at 5am and rarely end before 10 pm, even during the “slower” summer months.  What a laugh.  My summers are never slow.

So here’s my encouragement for you today.  Take time for yourself.  So many people rely on you; your boss, employees, children, spouse, family members, friends.  If you can’t operate at your peak performance level, then you are letting down not only yourself but others who need you.  You wouldn’t try to drive a car without oil in it.  Not unless you want to trash your engine by throwing a rod or two.  What makes you think that you can keep going mentally or emotionally without proper care of yourself?  Find something that speaks to you; something relaxing, calming, that helps you forget about the craziness of your life while you’re doing whatever activity it is and incorporate it into your life.  Apply it as often as you can and then find one or two more things that rebuild your stamina and apply them daily.  I promise you will be more productive, feel better about yourself, and be able to do more than you could previously if you make caring for yourself your number one priority.

And who knows, maybe I’ll see you at the beach.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

