Better vs. Best


Like me, I’m sure many of you have had relationships that you entered into believing that they would last forever. But over time, those relationships with friends, co-workers, family, and lovers have fizzled and died, sometimes a slow, agonizing death. What makes a relationship endure? Why do good relationships not last but great ones do? What’s the secret to creating the best relationship?

I can’t tell you the secret. Wish I could. I can tell you that I have been privileged to call a handful of people “my best friend”. I have known each of these individuals for a number of years. Some since I was 3-4 years old, while others are relatively new additions to my life. Among this small group of individuals who I plan to walk through this life with, I share relationships that are based on several key factors.

1.  We trust each other absolutely.

2.  We listen and share openly with each other.

3.  We genuinely care for and respect each other.

4.  We are quick to ask for and offer forgiveness.

5.  We are completely honest with each other.

These five traits characterize my “best friend” relationships.  Is this the secret to the best relationship?  I don’t know.  I do know that a 40 year old relationship (yes, Amy, that is you!) that is still going strong even after several long separations must say something about it’s success.  At least I know what does and does not work for me.  Hmmm, I sense a Question of the Day in here somewhere.  🙂

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Better vs. Best

  1. Amy Benson says:

    Sweetie I’ve loved Jeff since I was 15 not 5! Wow how old do you think I am 😉 heehee
    Jeff is a doll, a dear and an absolute gentleman. I am very blessed to have him as my husband.
    We will definately be together forever!!
    Love this post!!! Love you too!

    • leisaw says:

      Amy, you’re a riot. I was talking about you and me, not you and your sweet husband. You and I have known each other since I was 3 and you were 4. We lived down the street from each other in Mesa and played together in Primary. LOL…Ask Rick. He’ll refresh your memory. But, I do agree that this applies to you and Jeff too. Love you the most!!!

Leave a Reply

